answrsnow
AI Infrastructure · Top 10

The 10 Best Data Labeling Platforms for AI in 2027

By Kory White · Updated Oct 2026 · 6 min read
Label Studio
Direct answer

Label Studio from HumanSignal is the best data labeling platform for AI: it is open source, its hosted Starter Cloud plan costs $99 a month, and Enterprise adds SOC2 and HIPAA. CVAT is #2 with the lowest published prices, and Encord is #3 for LiDAR and sensor-fusion work.

At a glance

#PickPriceBest for
1Label StudioCommunity Edition is open source; Starter Cloud is $99 a month plus $49 a month for each additional user; Enterprise is customTeams that want a free open-source start with a hosted cloud plan priced in public
2CVATFree plan; Solo $33 a month or $23 a month yearly; Team $33 per user a month or $23 per user yearlyComputer vision teams that want boxes, masks, skeletons and tracks with a low published price
3EncordNot published; Starter and Team have a Get started button, Enterprise is contact salesPhysical AI, robotics and autonomy teams labeling LiDAR and sensor-fusion data
4SuperAnnotateNot published; Starter has a Get started button, Pro is request a demo, Enterprise is contact salesTeams that want one customizable editor for image, video, text and audio plus curation tools
5V7 DarwinCustom quote: a platform fee, user licenses and volume-based data processing; no list price or free tierHealthcare and pathology teams labeling medical images, video and documents
6Kili TechnologyFree Trial is $0 a month; Grow and Enterprise are custom contractsTeams that want to test a platform free and add a managed labeling workforce later
7DataloopNot publishedTeams that want labeling folded into data pipelines and model operations
8Amazon SageMaker Ground TruthCharged per reviewed dataset object, with tiers for fewer than 50,000, 50,000 to 1,000,000 and more than 1,000,000 objects a monthAWS teams that want usage-based labeling with Mechanical Turk or a vendor workforce
9Scale AINot published; the pricing page asks you to book a 1:1 intro callFrontier labs and large enterprises that want managed, expert-labeled data at volume
10LabelboxNot publishedFrontier AI labs that need RL environments, evals and expert preference labels

Pick by what you want

Best overall
Label Studio
Best low-cost vision tool
CVAT
Best for LiDAR and sensor fusion
Encord
Best for medical imaging
V7 Darwin
Best managed data for frontier labs
Scale AI

The ranking

1

Label Studio

Label Studio
Answrs VerdictThe best mix of open source, a posted cloud price and enterprise controls.
Price: Community Edition is open source; Starter Cloud is $99 a month plus $49 a month for each additional user; Enterprise is customOpen source: HumanSignal calls Label Studio the world's most popular open source data labeling tool, used by over 1,000,000 AI practitionersStarter Cloud: Fully hosted, up to 12 users, multi-modal labeling, role-based access control and quality workflowsEnterprise: SOC2 and HIPAA compliance, SSO with SAML or LDAP, auto-labeling and bulk labeling

Label Studio is the open-source labeling tool from HumanSignal, which says it is used by over 1,000,000 AI practitioners. Community Edition is open source. Starter Cloud is $99 a month plus $49 a month for each additional user and is fully hosted, with up to 12 users, multi-modal labeling, role-based access control and quality workflows. Enterprise is custom and adds SOC2 and HIPAA compliance, SSO with SAML or LDAP, auto-labeling and bulk labeling.

Go ifTeams that want a free open-source start with a hosted cloud plan priced in public
Skip ifYou need a managed workforce to do the labeling for you
Why #1 over #2: It publishes a hosted price and an open-source edition, where CVAT focuses on computer vision.
2

CVAT

CVAT
Answrs VerdictThe lowest published prices and the broadest annotation toolset for vision work.
Price: Free plan; Solo $33 a month or $23 a month yearly; Team $33 per user a month or $23 per user yearlyModalities: Images, videos, 3D point clouds and audioEditions: CVAT Online (hosted), CVAT Enterprise (self-hosted with SSO and RBAC) and open-source CVAT CommunityExport: More than 20 formats, including COCO, YOLO, KITTI, Cityscapes and Pascal VOCLabeling services: 300+ dedicated annotators across 12 time zones

CVAT has a free plan, Solo at $33 a month or $23 a month billed yearly, and Team at $33 per user a month or $23 per user yearly. It handles images, videos, 3D point clouds and audio, exports to more than 20 formats including COCO and YOLO, and comes as hosted CVAT Online, self-hosted CVAT Enterprise or open-source CVAT Community. CVAT also sells labeling services with 300+ dedicated annotators across 12 time zones.

Go ifComputer vision teams that want boxes, masks, skeletons and tracks with a low published price
Skip ifYour main work is LLM evaluation rather than computer vision
Why #2 over #3: Its prices are lower and its tools are broader across vision data types than Encord, which does not publish a price.
3

Encord

Encord
Answrs VerdictThe strongest multimodal editor for LiDAR and sensor-fusion labeling.
Price: Not published; Starter and Team have a Get started button, Enterprise is contact salesAnnotation: Native video annotation, LiDAR, audio, text and sensor fusion in the same workflowPlans: Team adds data agents, performance analytics and model evaluation; Enterprise adds SSO and VPC or on-prem deploymentsCustomer result: UiPath grew its dataset 10x and cut its error rate 4x

Encord does not publish a price; Starter and Team have a Get started button and Enterprise is contact sales. Its editor covers native video annotation, LiDAR, audio, text and sensor fusion in one workflow. Team adds data agents, performance analytics and model evaluation, and Enterprise adds SSO and VPC or on-prem deployments. UiPath grew its dataset 10x and cut its error rate 4x with it.

Go ifPhysical AI, robotics and autonomy teams labeling LiDAR and sensor-fusion data
Skip ifYou need a price before you talk to anyone
Why #3 over #4: Its LiDAR and sensor-fusion tooling goes further than the plain editor in SuperAnnotate.
4

SuperAnnotate

SuperAnnotate
Answrs VerdictA polished multimodal editor with a clear three-tier ladder.
Price: Not published; Starter has a Get started button, Pro is request a demo, Enterprise is contact salesEditors: A fully customizable multimodal editor with image, video, text and audio editorsCompute: Orchestrate includes 1K compute hours on Starter, 2.5K on Pro and 10K on EnterpriseRating: 4.9 on G2

SuperAnnotate does not publish a price: Starter has a Get started button, Pro is request a demo and Enterprise is contact sales. All plans include a fully customizable multimodal editor with image, video, text and audio editors. Orchestrate compute is 1K hours on Starter, 2.5K on Pro and 10K on Enterprise. The pricing page shows a 4.9 rating on G2.

Go ifTeams that want one customizable editor for image, video, text and audio plus curation tools
Skip ifYou want to see a plan price without a demo
Why #4 over #5: Its three plans are laid out side by side, where V7 Darwin sells only by custom quote.
5

V7 Darwin

V7 Darwin
Answrs VerdictThe best fit for medical and DICOM labeling with strong AI-assisted tools.
Price: Custom quote: a platform fee, user licenses and volume-based data processing; no list price or free tierAI labeling: V7 Auto-Annotate and SAM2, auto-track for video, and finding similar objects automaticallyData types: Images, medical imaging files, videos, volumetric series and documentsCompliance: GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001

V7 Darwin is quoted individually, built from a platform fee, user licenses and volume-based data processing; there is no list price. It offers V7 Auto-Annotate and SAM2, auto-track for video and automatic search for similar objects, and supports images, medical imaging files, videos, volumetric series and documents. V7 lists GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

Go ifHealthcare and pathology teams labeling medical images, video and documents
Skip ifYou want a self-serve plan with a posted price
Why #5 over #6: It is built around medical imaging and video, where Kili Technology is aimed at general datasets.
6

Kili Technology

Kili Technology
Answrs VerdictA clear free trial with seat and asset limits spelled out.
Price: Free Trial is $0 a month; Grow and Enterprise are custom contractsFree Trial: 2-5 team seats, 100 assets for text, documents and images, and 5 assets for video and satellite imageryGrow: Up to 20 team seats and up to 50,000 assets, with an API and Python SDKAdd-ons: Dedicated labeling services from Kili's expert team, plus on-premise deployment on Enterprise

Kili Technology has a $0 Free Trial with 2-5 team seats, 100 assets for text, documents and images, and 5 assets for video and satellite imagery. Grow is a custom subscription with up to 20 team seats and up to 50,000 assets, an API and a Python SDK. Add-ons include dedicated labeling services from Kili's expert team, and Enterprise offers on-premise deployment.

Go ifTeams that want to test a platform free and add a managed labeling workforce later
Skip ifYou need to label more than a trial's worth of assets without a contract
Why #6 over #7: It spells out its trial and plan limits, where Dataloop publishes no price.
7

Dataloop

Dataloop
Answrs VerdictA data-and-pipeline platform where labeling is one workflow among many.
Price: Not publishedPlatform: Data, models, pipelines, applications and human feedback on one platformHuman feedback: Human review plugs into any point of a pipeline, including RLHF and RLAIF workflowsModalities: Video and LiDAR are listed among its data types

Dataloop does not publish a price. It is a platform that puts data, models, pipelines, applications and human feedback together, and its human feedback features support RLHF and RLAIF workflows and plug human review into any point of a pipeline. Video and LiDAR are listed among its data types.

Go ifTeams that want labeling folded into data pipelines and model operations
Skip ifYou only want a standalone annotation tool
Why #7 over #8: It ties labeling into pipelines and models, where Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth is a labeling service.
8

Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth

Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth
Answrs VerdictThe pay-per-object choice for teams already on AWS.
Price: Charged per reviewed dataset object, with tiers for fewer than 50,000, 50,000 to 1,000,000 and more than 1,000,000 objects a monthLabor: Amazon Mechanical Turk is charged per object per review instance; with a vendor, the cost per label is set by the vendorOfferings: Amazon SageMaker Data Labeling has two offerings: Ground Truth Plus and Ground TruthFree tier: Ground Truth is not in the SageMaker AI Free Tier table

Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth is charged per reviewed dataset object, with tiers for fewer than 50,000, 50,000 to 1,000,000 and more than 1,000,000 objects a month. Amazon Mechanical Turk labor is charged per object per review instance, and with a vendor the cost per label is set by the vendor. AWS lists Ground Truth Plus and Ground Truth as the two Amazon SageMaker Data Labeling offerings, and Ground Truth is not in the SageMaker AI Free Tier table.

Go ifAWS teams that want usage-based labeling with Mechanical Turk or a vendor workforce
Skip ifYou want one flat monthly plan
Why #8 over #9: Its usage-based pricing is public, where Scale AI asks you to book a call.
9

Scale AI

Scale AI
Answrs VerdictThe managed-data heavyweight, sold through sales rather than a price list.
Price: Not published; the pricing page asks you to book a 1:1 intro callData Engine: Collect, curate and annotate data, train models and evaluate, with text, image, video and 3D sensor fusion annotation typesGenerative AI: RLHF, red teaming, data generation and evaluationReach: Scale says 90% of the world's leading generative AI model builders are powered by itMeta stake: Reuters reported in June 2025 that Meta would take a 49% stake for $14.3 billion; Meta did not disclose financial terms

Scale AI does not publish a price; its pricing page asks you to book a 1:1 intro call. Its Data Engine covers collecting, curating and annotating data across text, image, video and 3D sensor fusion, and its Generative AI Data Engine covers RLHF, red teaming, data generation and evaluation. Scale says 90% of the world's leading generative AI model builders are powered by it. Reuters reported in June 2025 that Meta would take a 49% stake for $14.3 billion; Meta did not disclose financial terms.

Go ifFrontier labs and large enterprises that want managed, expert-labeled data at volume
Skip ifYou want a self-serve tool or a published price
Why #9 over #10: It is a proven managed-data vendor for frontier model builders, where Labelbox now centers on RL environments.
10

Labelbox

Labelbox
Answrs VerdictNow aimed at frontier labs, so it ranks last for everyday labeling.
Price: Not publishedFocus: Builds the environments frontier labs train AI on, and agents for engineering and research teamsReach: Over 90% of leading US AI labs post-train and evaluate on LabelboxFunding: Announced a Series E of $100M+

Labelbox does not publish a price. Its homepage now describes building the environments frontier labs train AI on, and agents for engineering and research teams, and says over 90% of leading US AI labs post-train and evaluate on it. It announced a Series E of $100M+.

Go ifFrontier AI labs that need RL environments, evals and expert preference labels
Skip ifYou want a general-purpose self-serve annotation tool

How we ranked these

We ranked platforms by how openly each vendor publishes pricing and plans, then by the labeling tools and data types its own pages list. Snorkel and Surge AI were left out because their pages no longer describe a labeling platform with published plans we could verify. V7 Darwin now lives at v7darwin.com, and Labelbox has repositioned toward frontier-lab environments, so we note that. Chart prices are published self-serve plan prices per month; billing terms are shown in each label. Facts are taken from each maker's own published information; check the official site before you buy.

Questions people ask

What is the best data labeling platform for AI in 2027?

Label Studio from HumanSignal is our top pick: it is open source, its hosted Starter Cloud plan is $99 a month, and Enterprise adds SOC2, HIPAA and SSO.

Which data labeling platform has the lowest published price?

CVAT has a free plan and a Solo plan at $23 a month billed yearly or $33 a month billed monthly.

Is there a free way to try data labeling software?

Yes. Label Studio Community is open source, CVAT has a free plan, and Kili Technology has a $0 Free Trial with 2-5 team seats.

How does Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth charge?

It charges per reviewed dataset object in volume tiers, and Mechanical Turk labor is charged per object per review instance.

Published self-serve plan prices per month, in US dollars (CVAT billed yearly or monthly) at a glance

CVAT (Solo, billed yearly)23 USD per month
CVAT (Solo, billed monthly)33 USD per month
Label Studio (each added Starter Cloud user)49 USD per month
Label Studio (Starter Cloud base)99 USD per month
Published self-serve plan prices per month, in US dollars (CVAT billed yearly or monthly), as published by each maker. Picks without a published figure are left off.

Official sites

Sources

Prices, specs and availability change; confirm on the official site before you buy.