Top 10 Affordable EVs in 2027 (Best Overall + Best Value)
By Kory White · Updated Oct 2026 · 6 min read
Direct answer
The best overall and best value affordable EV in 2027 is the Chevrolet Bolt: it starts at $27,600 for the 2027 LT and is EPA-estimated at 262 miles. The 2027 Kia EV3 ($29,890) and 2026 Nissan Leaf ($29,990) are next. Prices are starting MSRP from each automaker and mostly exclude destination. The IRS says the federal new clean vehicle credit is not available for vehicles acquired after Sept. 30, 2025, so none is subtracted.
$38,290 for the 2026 Mach-E Select on Ford's configurator, excluding destination and delivery fee; Ford's model page shows $37,795
Buyers who want a Ford electric SUV with a long-range option
Pick by what you want
Best overall
2027 Chevrolet Bolt
Best value
2027 Chevrolet Bolt
Best range for the price
2026 Nissan Leaf
Longest range here
2026 Tesla Model 3 Standard
Shortest range here
2026 Fiat 500e
The ranking
1
2027 Chevrolet Bolt
Answrs VerdictCheapest here, 262 miles.
Starting MSRP: $27,600 for the 2027 Bolt LT; excludes destination freight, whose amount Chevrolet's page does not stateEPA range: 262 miles EPA-estimatedEfficiency: 120 MPGe combined for the 2027 Bolt per EPAPower: 210 horsepower with a NACS charge portDriver assistance: Chevrolet says the Bolt is the most affordable vehicle to offer hands-free driving with Super Cruise
The 2027 Bolt LT starts at $27,600, excluding destination freight, and Chevrolet's page does not state the freight amount. It is EPA-estimated at 262 miles and 120 MPGe combined, with 210 horsepower and a NACS charge port. Chevrolet says it is the most affordable vehicle to offer hands-free driving with Super Cruise.
Go ifBuyers who want the lowest published starting price of any new EV here
Skip ifYou need more than 262 miles of range
Why #1 over #2: It starts at $27,600, below the Kia EV3 at $29,890, while still offering 262 miles of range.
2
2027 Kia EV3
Answrs VerdictSecond cheapest, range costs more.
Starting MSRP: $29,890 for the EV3 Light; MSRP excludes destination and handling chargesEPA range: 221 miles for the Light; the Wind trim at $34,990 is rated 321 milesEfficiency: 115 MPGe combined for the 2027 EV3 Standard Range FWD per EPACharging: North American Charging System (NACS) port standard; Kia lists 10% to 80% on DC fast chargers in 31 minDrivetrain: Front-wheel drive on the Light; Kia lists available e-AWD on the EV3
The EV3 Light starts at $29,890, excluding destination and handling. The Light is rated 221 miles, and the Wind trim at $34,990 is rated 321 miles. EPA lists 115 MPGe for the Standard Range FWD. A NACS port is standard, and Kia lists 10% to 80% on DC fast chargers in 31 min and available e-AWD.
Go ifShoppers who want a small electric SUV with a longer-range trim available
Skip ifYou want the long range on the base trim; the Light is rated 221 miles
Why #2 over #3: It starts at $29,890, below the Leaf at $29,990, and offers a 321-mile trim.
3
2026 Nissan Leaf
Answrs VerdictLong range, base price near $30,000.
Starting MSRP: $29,990 for the 2026 Leaf S+, plus a $1,575 destination and handling chargeEPA range: Up to 303 miles on the S+ per NissanEfficiency: 121 MPGe combined for the 2026 Leaf 75 kWh with 18-inch steel wheels per EPABody style: Nissan calls the all-new 2026 Leaf an electric subcompact SUVOther trims: EPA lists 288 miles with 18-inch alloy wheels and 259 miles with 19-inch wheels
The 2026 Leaf S+ starts at $29,990 plus a $1,575 destination and handling charge, and Nissan rates it at up to 303 miles. EPA lists 121 MPGe with 18-inch steel wheels, 288 miles with 18-inch alloy wheels and 259 miles with 19-inch wheels. Nissan calls the all-new Leaf an electric subcompact SUV.
Go ifBuyers who want 303 miles of range on a base trim at a price under $30,000
Skip ifYou want the destination fee included in the headline price; Nissan adds $1,575
Why #3 over #4: Its 303 miles of range is above the EV3 Light at 221 miles, for $29,990.
4
2027 Toyota bZ
Answrs VerdictEfficient, but the base is shorter range.
Starting MSRP: $34,980 base MSRP for the 2027 bZ XLE; Toyota's page did not state whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmedEPA range: 236 miles for the XLE; Toyota lists 314 miles on the XLE FWD Plus and 288 miles on the XLE AWDEfficiency: 130 MPGe combined for the 2027 bZ with the 200 Ah battery per EPALimited trim: $43,380 base MSRP and 299 miles for the LimitedDrivetrain: All-wheel drive with X-MODE is available
The 2027 bZ XLE starts at $34,980 base MSRP, and Toyota's page does not say whether destination is included. The XLE is rated 236 miles, the XLE FWD Plus 314 miles and the XLE AWD 288 miles. EPA lists 130 MPGe for the 200 Ah battery. The Limited is $43,380 with 299 miles, and AWD with X-MODE is available.
Go ifBuyers who want a Toyota-backed electric SUV with an AWD option
Skip ifYou want the long-range version at the base price; 314 miles needs the FWD Plus
Why #4 over #5: Its 130 MPGe is above the Equinox EV at 108 MPGe, at a $34,980 start.
5
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV
Answrs Verdict319 miles near $35,000.
Starting MSRP: $34,995 for the 2027 Equinox EV LT; MSRP excludes destination freight chargeEPA range: 319 miles EPA-estimated with FWDEfficiency: 108 MPGe combined for the 2027 Equinox EV FWD per EPAFast charging: Chevrolet says you can add up to 80 miles of range in 10 minutes at public DC fast chargingAWD: EPA lists 307 miles for the 2027 Equinox EV AWD
The 2027 Equinox EV LT starts at $34,995, excluding the destination freight charge, and is EPA-estimated at 319 miles with FWD and 108 MPGe. EPA lists 307 miles for the AWD. Chevrolet says you can add up to 80 miles of range in 10 minutes at public DC fast charging.
Go ifFamilies who want a compact electric SUV with over 300 miles of range
Skip ifYou want a base price under $30,000
Why #5 over #6: Its 319 miles is above the bZ XLE at 236 miles, at $34,995.
6
2027 Hyundai Ioniq 5
Answrs VerdictUp to 318 miles, trim unclear.
Starting MSRP: $35,250 for the 2027 Ioniq 5; MSRP excludes freight charges and Hyundai's page does not tie it to a trimEPA range: 318 miles for the SE, SEL and Limited RWD; 290 miles for the SE and SEL AWDEfficiency: 114 MPGe combined for the 2027 Ioniq 5 RWD per EPAStandard range: EPA also lists a 2027 Ioniq 5 Standard range at 245 miles and 115 MPGeCharging: Hyundai says an NACS port is included
The 2027 Ioniq 5 starts at $35,250, excluding freight, and Hyundai's page does not tie that price to a trim. Hyundai lists 318 miles for the SE, SEL and Limited RWD and 290 miles for the SE and SEL AWD. EPA lists 114 MPGe for the RWD and a Standard range at 245 miles and 115 MPGe. Hyundai says an NACS port is included.
Go ifDrivers who want up to 318 miles of range and an NACS port from Hyundai
Skip ifYou need to know which trim the $35,250 price applies to; Hyundai does not say
Why #6 over #7: It offers up to 318 miles of range at $35,250, against 149 miles for the Fiat 500e.
7
2026 Fiat 500e
Answrs VerdictCute, short range.
Starting MSRP: $35,700 for the 2026 Fiat 500e; MSRP excludes destinationEPA range: 149 miles combined per EPA; Fiat lists up to 153 miles of city rangeEfficiency: 116 MPGe combined for the 2026 500e per EPACharging: Fiat lists charging up to 40 miles in 5 minutes at DC fast charging stationsCity range: Up to 162 miles of city range with available summer tires
The 2026 500e starts at $35,700, excluding destination. EPA rates it at 149 miles combined and 116 MPGe, and Fiat lists up to 153 miles of city range. Fiat lists charging up to 40 miles in 5 minutes at DC fast charging stations. It has the shortest range on this list.
Go ifDrivers who want a small electric car for short trips
Skip ifYou take highway trips; 149 miles is the lowest range here
Why #7 over #8: It starts at $35,700, with 149 miles of range against 321 for the Model 3 at $36,990.
8
2026 Tesla Model 3 Standard
Answrs VerdictThe only sedan, 321 miles.
Starting MSRP: $36,990 for the entry Model 3 on Tesla's page; Tesla lists $38,630 in Massachusetts including destination and order feesEPA range: 321 miles per Tesla; EPA lists 321 miles for the 2026 Model 3 Standard RWDEfficiency: 139 MPGe combined for the 2026 Model 3 Standard RWD per EPAPerformance: Tesla lists 0-60 mph in 5.8 sec and 24 cu ft of cargo spaceNext trim: The Model 3 Premium starts at $42,490 with 346 miles of range
Tesla lists the entry Model 3 at $36,990, and $38,630 in Massachusetts including destination and order fees. It is rated 321 miles and 139 MPGe for the 2026 Standard RWD by EPA, and Tesla lists 0-60 mph in 5.8 sec and 24 cu ft of cargo space. The Model 3 Premium starts at $42,490 with 346 miles.
Go ifBuyers who want the most range per entry trim among the sedans on this list
Skip ifYou want a base price near $30,000
Why #8 over #9: It has the longest entry-trim range on the list at 321 miles, for $36,990, against 319 for the Equinox EV.
9
2026 Kia EV6
Answrs VerdictStylish, pricier base.
Starting MSRP: $37,900 for the 2026 EV6 Light; MSRP excludes destination and handling chargesEPA range: 237 miles for the Light RWD; the Light Long Range RWD is rated 319 milesEfficiency: 115 MPGe combined for the 2026 EV6 Standard Range RWD per EPACharging: North American Charging System (NACS) port standardBody style: Kia calls it an all-electric SUV
The 2026 EV6 Light starts at $37,900, excluding destination and handling, and is rated 237 miles. The Light Long Range RWD is rated 319 miles, and EPA lists 115 MPGe for the Standard Range RWD. A NACS port is standard. Kia calls it an all-electric SUV.
Go ifBuyers who want sporty EV styling and a long-range version available
Skip ifYou want the long range on the base trim; the Light is rated 237 miles
Why #9 over #10: It starts at $37,900, below the Mach-E at $38,290, with a 319-mile trim available.
10
2026 Ford Mustang Mach-E
Answrs VerdictFord SUV, price shown two ways.
Starting MSRP: $38,290 for the 2026 Mach-E Select on Ford's configurator, excluding destination and delivery fee; Ford's model page shows $37,795EPA range: Ford's model page lists 300 miles EPA-est. for the SelectEfficiency: EPA lists 107 MPGe for the 2026 Mach-E RWD and 110 for the RWD ExtendedRange by trim: EPA lists 260 miles for the RWD and 320 miles for the RWD Extended; Ford does not tie the Select to onePremium trim: The Mach-E Premium starts at $41,090
Ford's configurator lists the 2026 Mach-E Select from $38,290, excluding destination and delivery, while Ford's model page shows $37,795. Ford's page lists 300 miles EPA-est. for the Select; EPA lists 260 miles for the RWD and 320 miles for the RWD Extended at 107 and 110 MPGe. The Premium starts at $41,090.
Go ifBuyers who want a Ford electric SUV with a long-range option
Skip ifYou need one exact range figure; Ford's page and EPA data differ by trim
How we ranked these
We ranked new EVs on sale in the US by the lowest starting MSRP on each automaker's own page, for 2026 and 2027 models. Prices exclude destination unless a pick says otherwise, and each pick states what its page says. EPA range and efficiency come from fueleconomy.gov or the maker page. The IRS says the federal new clean vehicle credit is not available for vehicles acquired after Sept. 30, 2025 (page last reviewed 13-Jul-2026), so no credit is subtracted. Just outside the top 10 are the Subaru Solterra at $38,495 and the MINI Countryman SE ALL4 at $38,900; a Tesla Model Y Standard price and a Hyundai Kona Electric listing could not be confirmed. Safety ratings were not compared. For narrower lists see our Top 10 Electric Sedans at /cars/best-electric-sedans-2027/, Top 10 Electric SUVs at /cars/best-electric-suvs-2027/, Top 10 Luxury EVs at /cars/best-luxury-evs-2027/ and Top 10 Electric Minivans and 3-Row EVs at /cars/best-electric-minivans-and-3-row-evs-2027/. Facts are taken from each maker's own published information; check the official site before you buy.
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest new EV in 2027?
The 2027 Chevrolet Bolt, from $27,600 for the LT with 262 miles of EPA-estimated range. That price excludes destination freight. The 2027 Kia EV3 at $29,890 and the 2026 Nissan Leaf at $29,990 follow.
Does the federal EV tax credit still apply?
No. The IRS page for new clean vehicles, last reviewed 13-Jul-2026, says the credit is not available for vehicles acquired after Sept. 30, 2025. The prices on this page do not subtract any federal credit.
Do these prices include destination?
No, except where stated. The Bolt, EV3, Equinox EV, Ioniq 5, 500e, EV6 and Mach-E prices exclude destination. Nissan lists a $1,575 destination charge on the Leaf, and Tesla lists $38,630 in Massachusetts including destination and order fees. Toyota's page did not say, so that could not be confirmed.
Which cheap EV has the longest range?
Among the entry prices here, the Tesla Model 3 is rated 321 miles at $36,990 and the Chevrolet Equinox EV 319 miles at $34,995. The Nissan Leaf S+ is up to 303 miles at $29,990, and the Bolt is 262 miles at $27,600.
Starting MSRP on the automaker page (USD, before destination unless noted) at a glance
2027 Chevrolet Bolt$27,600
2027 Kia EV3$29,890
2026 Nissan Leaf$29,990
2027 Toyota bZ$34,980
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV$34,995
2027 Hyundai Ioniq 5$35,250
2026 Fiat 500e$35,700
2026 Tesla Model 3 Standard$36,990
2026 Kia EV6$37,900
2026 Ford Mustang Mach-E$38,290
Starting MSRP on the automaker page (USD, before destination unless noted), as published by each maker. Picks without a published figure are left off.