answrsnow
Cars · Top 10

Best Electric SUVs Under $50,000 in 2027

By Kory White · Updated Oct 2026 · 4 min read
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD
Direct answer

The 2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV is the best electric SUV under $50,000: it starts at $34,995 and is rated at 319 miles of EPA-estimated range with FWD. The 2026 Nissan Leaf S+ ($29,990, up to 303 miles) is #2 and the 2027 Kia EV3 Light ($29,890) is #3. Prices read from each maker on Oct 23, 2026.

At a glance

#PickStarting MSRPBest for
12027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD$34,995 (2027 Equinox EV, Chevrolet page read Oct 23, 2026; destination not stated on the page)The most range for the money
22026 Nissan Leaf S+$29,990 for the 2026 Leaf S+ plus $1,575 destination (Nissan price data, read Oct 23, 2026)A sub-$30,000 sticker with 300-plus miles
32027 Kia EV3 Light$29,890 for the Light trim (2027 EV3, Kia page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and handling)The lowest published price on this list
42027 Subaru Uncharted$34,995 (2027 Uncharted, Subaru page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and delivery)Light trails and bad weather
52027 Toyota bZ XLE$34,980 base MSRP for the XLE (2027 bZ, Toyota page read Oct 23, 2026)A low sticker from a mainstream brand
62027 Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range$35,250 for the SE Standard Range (2027 Ioniq 5, Hyundai page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes freight)The fastest charging of the group
72027 Toyota C-HR SE$37,080 for the SE (2027 C-HR, Toyota page read Oct 23, 2026)All-wheel drive as standard
82027 Subaru Solterra$38,495 (2027 Solterra, Subaru page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and delivery)Standard AWD and EyeSight
92026 Kia Niro EV Wind$39,700 for the Wind (2026 Niro EV, Kia page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and handling)A well-equipped base trim
102027 Chevrolet Blazer EV LT$45,000 for the LT (2027 Blazer EV, Chevrolet page read Oct 23, 2026; destination not stated on the page)A mid-size body under $50,000

Pick by what you want

Best overall
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD
Lowest price
2027 Kia EV3 Light
Longest range
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD
Best for bad weather
2027 Subaru Uncharted
Biggest body
2027 Chevrolet Blazer EV LT

The ranking

1

2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD

2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD
Answrs VerdictThe value benchmark.
Starting MSRP: $34,995 (2027 Equinox EV, Chevrolet page read Oct 23, 2026; destination not stated on the page)EPA-estimated range: 319 miles with FWDTouchscreen: 17.7 inches, billed as the largest among EVs in its classSafety: Over 20 standard safety and driver assistance features

The 2027 Equinox EV starts at $34,995 on Chevrolet’s page, with 319 miles of EPA-estimated range with FWD, a 17.7-inch touchscreen and over 20 standard safety and driver assistance features.

Go ifThe most range for the money
Skip ifYou want a cheaper sticker
Why #1 over #2: Its 319 miles beat the Nissan Leaf’s 303 and the Kia EV3 Light’s 221.
2

2026 Nissan Leaf S+

2026 Nissan Leaf S+
Answrs VerdictThe cheap crossover.
Starting MSRP: $29,990 for the 2026 Leaf S+ plus $1,575 destination (Nissan price data, read Oct 23, 2026)EPA-estimated range: Up to 303 miles on the S+Body style: Nissan calls it a fully electric subcompact crossover SUV

The 2026 Leaf S+ starts at $29,990 plus $1,575 destination and is rated at up to 303 miles; Nissan calls it a fully electric subcompact crossover SUV.

Go ifA sub-$30,000 sticker with 300-plus miles
Skip ifYou want a taller, boxier SUV
Why #2 over #3: Its $29,990 start sits below the Subaru Uncharted’s $34,995 with similar range.
3

2027 Kia EV3 Light

2027 Kia EV3 Light
Answrs VerdictThe cheapest way in.
Starting MSRP: $29,890 for the Light trim (2027 EV3, Kia page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and handling)EPA-estimated range: 221 miles on the Light; 321 miles on the Wind FWDStandard on the Light: NACS port, 12.3-in. dual panoramic displays with navigation, 17-in. alloy wheels, auto emergency brakingCharging: 10% to 80% DC fast charge in 31 minutes

The 2027 EV3 Light starts at $29,890, excluding destination and handling, with a NACS port, dual 12.3-inch displays and auto emergency braking; the Wind FWD is rated at 321 miles.

Go ifThe lowest published price on this list
Skip ifYou need more than 221 miles
Why #3 over #4: Its $29,890 start is below the Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range’s $35,250.
4

2027 Subaru Uncharted

2027 Subaru Uncharted
Answrs VerdictThe rugged one.
Starting MSRP: $34,995 (2027 Uncharted, Subaru page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and delivery)EPA-estimated range: Up to 308 milesCharging: 10% to 80% in about 28 minutes; NACS port and Tesla Supercharger accessGround clearance: 8.2 inchesSafety: EyeSight driver assist is standard

The 2027 Uncharted starts at $34,995, excluding destination and delivery, with up to 308 miles of range, 8.2 inches of ground clearance and standard EyeSight.

Go ifLight trails and bad weather
Skip ifYou want the lowest price
Why #4 over #5: Its 308 miles and 8.2 inches of clearance beat the Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range’s 245 miles.
5

2027 Toyota bZ XLE

2027 Toyota bZ XLE
Answrs VerdictThe long-range Toyota.
Starting MSRP: $34,980 base MSRP for the XLE (2027 bZ, Toyota page read Oct 23, 2026)Est. range rating: 236 miles on the XLE grade at the $34,980 base MSRP; the XLE FWD Plus is rated at 314 miles (priced higher)Battery warranty: 8 years or 100,000 milesAvailable: All-wheel drive with X-MODE

The 2027 bZ XLE starts at $34,980 and has a 236-mile estimated range rating at that price, while the pricier XLE FWD Plus is rated at 314 miles; the battery is covered for 8 years or 100,000 miles.

Go ifA low sticker from a mainstream brand
Skip ifYou need more than 236 miles at this price
Why #5 over #6: Its $34,980 start is below the C-HR SE’s $37,080.
6

2027 Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range

2027 Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range
Answrs VerdictThe fast charger.
Starting MSRP: $35,250 for the SE Standard Range (2027 Ioniq 5, Hyundai page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes freight)EPA-estimated range: 245 miles on the SE RWD Standard Range; up to 318 miles on SE, SEL and Limited RWDCharging: 10% to 80% in as little as 20 minutes on a 350-kW charger; NACS port included

The 2027 Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range starts at $35,250, excluding freight, and is rated at 245 miles; SE, SEL and Limited RWD models reach up to 318 miles and it charges 10% to 80% in as little as 20 minutes.

Go ifThe fastest charging of the group
Skip ifYou want the longest range at the base price
Why #6 over #7: Its 20-minute charging beats the Niro EV’s 253-mile base car for road trips.
7

2027 Toyota C-HR SE

2027 Toyota C-HR SE
Answrs VerdictThe standard-AWD pick.
Starting MSRP: $37,080 for the SE (2027 C-HR, Toyota page read Oct 23, 2026)EPA-estimated range: 287 miles on the SEDrivetrain: Standard all-wheel driveStandard features: 14-inch multimedia touchscreen and dual Qi wireless chargersCharging: NACS port

The 2027 C-HR SE starts at $37,080 with 287 miles of range, standard all-wheel drive, a 14-inch touchscreen and dual Qi wireless chargers.

Go ifAll-wheel drive as standard
Skip ifYou want the lowest price
Why #7 over #8: Its standard all-wheel drive is not listed on the Niro EV Wind.
8

2027 Subaru Solterra

2027 Subaru Solterra
Answrs VerdictThe all-weather pick.
Starting MSRP: $38,495 (2027 Solterra, Subaru page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and delivery)EPA-estimated range: Up to 288 miles with standard Symmetrical All-Wheel DriveTouchscreen: 14.0 inchesSafety: EyeSight driver assist is standard

The 2027 Solterra starts at $38,495, excluding destination and delivery, with up to 288 miles of range, standard Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive and a 14.0-inch touchscreen.

Go ifStandard AWD and EyeSight
Skip ifYou want the longest range per sticker price
Why #8 over #9: Its standard EyeSight and all-wheel drive come with up to 288 miles, against the Niro EV’s 253.
9

2026 Kia Niro EV Wind

2026 Kia Niro EV Wind
Answrs VerdictThe well-equipped one.
Starting MSRP: $39,700 for the Wind (2026 Niro EV, Kia page read Oct 23, 2026; excludes destination and handling)EPA-estimated range: 253 milesStandard on the Wind: Heated front seats, wireless phone charger, smart power liftgate, roof railsPower: 201 hp and 188 lb-ft of torque

The 2026 Niro EV Wind starts at $39,700, excluding destination and handling, with 253 miles of range, heated front seats, a wireless phone charger and a smart power liftgate.

Go ifA well-equipped base trim
Skip ifYou want 300 miles of range
Why #9 over #10: Its $39,700 start leaves more room under $50,000 than the Blazer EV LT’s $45,000.
10

2027 Chevrolet Blazer EV LT

2027 Chevrolet Blazer EV LT
Answrs VerdictThe big one.
Starting MSRP: $45,000 for the LT (2027 Blazer EV, Chevrolet page read Oct 23, 2026; destination not stated on the page)EPA-estimated range: 312 miles with FWDStandard on the LT: NACS charge port, Dual Level Charge cord, 17.7-inch touchscreen with Google built-inNext trim up: RS starts at $50,800

The 2027 Blazer EV LT starts at $45,000 with 312 miles of range with FWD, a NACS charge port and a 17.7-inch touchscreen with Google built-in; the RS starts at $50,800.

Go ifA mid-size body under $50,000
Skip ifYou want the lowest price

How we ranked these

We ranked each model on value at its base trim: the maker-published starting MSRP against EPA-estimated range and standard features. Every price was read from the maker’s own page on Oct 23, 2026, and destination is noted where the maker states it. The 2026 Leaf and Niro EV and the 2027 models are all on sale new in the US. Facts are taken from each maker's own published information; check the official site before you buy.

Questions people ask

What is the best electric SUV under $50,000?

The 2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV, which starts at $34,995 on Chevrolet’s page and is rated at 319 miles of EPA-estimated range with FWD.

What is the cheapest electric SUV on this list?

The 2027 Kia EV3 Light starts at $29,890 excluding destination and handling; the 2026 Nissan Leaf S+ starts at $29,990 plus $1,575 destination.

Which cheap electric SUV has the longest range?

The Equinox EV FWD is rated at 319 miles, the Blazer EV LT at 312 miles and the Nissan Leaf S+ at up to 303 miles; the Subaru Uncharted is rated at up to 308 miles.

Do these prices include destination?

Kia, Hyundai and Subaru state that their starting MSRP excludes destination, delivery or freight; Nissan lists a $1,575 destination charge separately. Chevrolet and Toyota do not say on the pages we read.

EPA-estimated range at the priced base trim (miles; Subaru and Toyota bZ not shown, trim range not confirmed) at a glance

2027 Kia EV3 Light221 miles
2027 Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE Standard Range245 miles
2026 Kia Niro EV Wind253 miles
2027 Toyota C-HR SE287 miles
2026 Nissan Leaf S+303 miles
2027 Chevrolet Blazer EV LT312 miles
2027 Chevrolet Equinox EV FWD319 miles
EPA-estimated range at the priced base trim (miles; Subaru and Toyota bZ not shown, trim range not confirmed), as published by each maker. Picks without a published figure are left off.

Official sites

Prices, specs and availability change; confirm on the official site before you buy.

Share this page
Share on LinkedIn