Top 10 Hybrid SUVs in 2027 (Best Overall + Best Value)
By Kory White · Updated Oct 2026 · 5 min read
Direct answer
The best overall hybrid SUV in 2027 is the Kia Sportage Hybrid: the 2026 Sportage is an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+ (built after May 2025), EPA rates the 2027 FWD hybrid at 41 MPG combined, and it starts at $30,590 before destination. The best value is the 2026 Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid at $29,795, and the Kia Niro gets the most MPG at 50. Prices are makers' starting MSRP and mostly exclude destination.
$45,610 for the 2026 Grand Highlander Hybrid LE; Toyota's page does not state whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmed
Large families who want the biggest Toyota hybrid SUV here
Pick by what you want
Best overall
2027 Kia Sportage Hybrid
Best value
2026 Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid
Best fuel economy
2027 Kia Niro Hybrid
Best midsize with a top IIHS award
2027 Hyundai Santa Fe Hybrid
Biggest and priciest
2026 Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid
The ranking
1
2027 Kia Sportage Hybrid
Answrs VerdictTop award, 41 MPG.
Starting MSRP: $30,590 for the 2027 Sportage Hybrid; Kia says MSRP excludes destination and handling chargesEPA fuel economy: 41 MPG combined for the 2027 Sportage Hybrid FWD per EPA; 35 MPG combined for the AWDIIHS award: 2026 Kia Sportage is a TOP SAFETY PICK+; IIHS says it applies only to vehicles built after May 2025AWD version: EPA lists the 2027 Sportage Hybrid AWD at 35 MPG combinedKia claim: Kia's page cites EPA-est. 41 MPG combined for the LX, S and EX FWD hybrid trims
The 2027 Sportage Hybrid starts at $30,590, and Kia says MSRP excludes destination and handling. EPA rates the FWD at 41 MPG combined and the AWD at 35. The 2026 Sportage is an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+, though IIHS says that applies only to vehicles built after May 2025.
Go ifShoppers who want a top IIHS award and 41 MPG in one compact SUV
Skip ifYou need AWD and the best mileage; the AWD is rated 35 MPG
Why #1 over #2: It pairs a TOP SAFETY PICK+ with 41 MPG, above the Tucson Hybrid at 36 MPG.
2
2027 Kia Sorento Hybrid
Answrs VerdictMidsize, award winner, pricier.
Starting MSRP: $39,090 for the 2027 Sorento Hybrid; Kia says MSRP excludes destination and handling chargesEPA fuel economy: 37 MPG combined for the 2027 Sorento Hybrid FWD per EPAIIHS award: 2026 Kia Sorento is a TOP SAFETY PICK+; IIHS says it applies only to vehicles built after September 2025AWD version: EPA lists the 2027 Sorento Hybrid AWD at 34 MPG combined
The 2027 Sorento Hybrid starts at $39,090, excluding destination and handling. EPA rates the FWD at 37 MPG combined and the AWD at 34. The 2026 Sorento is a TOP SAFETY PICK+ for vehicles built after September 2025.
Go ifBuyers who want a midsize SUV with a top IIHS award and 37 MPG
Skip ifYou want a hybrid under $35,000; this one starts at $39,090
Why #2 over #3: Its 37 MPG is above the Tucson Hybrid at 36 MPG, with the same IIHS award.
3
2026 Hyundai Tucson Hybrid
Answrs VerdictAward winner at a fair price.
Starting MSRP: $31,300 for the 2026 Tucson Hybrid on Hyundai's hybrid list; Hyundai says MSRP excludes freight chargesEPA fuel economy: 36 MPG combined for the 2026 Tucson Hybrid AWD per EPAIIHS award: 2026 Hyundai Tucson is a TOP SAFETY PICK+Other powertrain: Hyundai lists a 2026 Tucson Plug-in Hybrid from $40,675
Hyundai lists the 2026 Tucson Hybrid from $31,300, excluding freight, and EPA rates the AWD at 36 MPG combined. The 2026 Tucson is an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+. Hyundai also lists a plug-in version from $40,675.
Go ifBuyers who want a top IIHS award for about $31,300 before freight
Skip ifYou want more than 36 MPG; the Sportage FWD is rated 41
Why #3 over #4: It starts at $31,300, well below the Santa Fe Hybrid at $36,650, with the same 36 MPG and IIHS award.
4
2027 Hyundai Santa Fe Hybrid
Answrs VerdictRoomier Hyundai, award winner.
Starting MSRP: $36,650 for the 2027 Santa Fe Hybrid; Hyundai says MSRP excludes freight chargesEPA fuel economy: 36 MPG combined for the 2027 Santa Fe Hybrid FWD per EPAIIHS award: 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe is a TOP SAFETY PICK+AWD version: EPA lists the 2027 Santa Fe Hybrid AWD at 35 MPG combined
The 2027 Santa Fe Hybrid starts at $36,650, excluding freight. EPA rates the FWD at 36 MPG combined and the AWD at 35, and the 2026 Santa Fe is a TOP SAFETY PICK+.
Go ifFamilies who want the redesigned Santa Fe with a top IIHS award and a hybrid option
Skip ifYou want the lowest price; the Tucson Hybrid starts at $31,300
Why #4 over #5: It holds a TOP SAFETY PICK+ and 36 MPG, against 35 MPG for the Forester Hybrid.
5
2026 Subaru Forester Hybrid
Answrs VerdictAWD, long range, 35 MPG.
Starting MSRP: $34,730 for the 2026 Forester Hybrid; Subaru says MSRP does not include destination and delivery chargesEPA fuel economy: 35 MPG combined for the 2026 Forester Hybrid AWD per EPAIIHS award: 2026 Subaru Forester is a TOP SAFETY PICK+Range: Subaru lists 581 miles of range
The 2026 Forester Hybrid starts at $34,730, and Subaru says the price does not include destination and delivery. EPA rates it at 35 MPG combined with AWD, Subaru lists 581 miles of range, and the 2026 Forester is a TOP SAFETY PICK+.
Go ifDrivers who want all-wheel drive, a long range and a top IIHS award
Skip ifYou want 40 MPG or more; the Forester Hybrid AWD is rated 35
Why #5 over #6: It holds a TOP SAFETY PICK+, unlike the 50 MPG Niro, which is not listed for 2026.
6
2027 Kia Niro Hybrid
Answrs Verdict50 MPG, no IIHS award.
Starting MSRP: $29,890 for the 2027 Niro Hybrid; Kia says MSRP excludes destination and handling chargesEPA fuel economy: 50 MPG combined for the 2027 Niro per EPA, the highest on this listBody style: Kia calls it the 2027 Niro Hybrid SUV, and EPA classes it as a small sport utility vehicleIIHS award: Not listed among the 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK winners on IIHS's page
The 2027 Niro Hybrid starts at $29,890, excluding destination and handling. EPA rates it at 50 MPG combined, the highest here, and classes it as a small sport utility vehicle. IIHS's 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK page does not list it.
Go ifCommuters who want the most MPG of any hybrid SUV here
Skip ifYou want an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK award; the Niro is not listed for 2026
Why #6 over #7: Its 50 MPG is above the RAV4 at 43 MPG, at a lower $29,890 start.
7
2026 Toyota RAV4
Answrs VerdictEfficient, hybrid-only.
Starting MSRP: $31,900 base MSRP for the 2026 RAV4 LE, a hybrid; Toyota's page does not state whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmedEPA fuel economy: 43 MPG combined for the 2026 RAV4 FWD per EPA; 41 MPG combined for the AWD XLEPowertrain: Toyota lists a 2.5L 4-cylinder hybrid engine with 236 net combined hpWoodland: EPA lists the RAV4 Hybrid AWD Woodland Edition at 38 MPG combinedIIHS award: Not listed among the 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK winners on IIHS's page
Toyota lists the 2026 RAV4 LE, a hybrid, at $31,900 base MSRP, and its page does not say whether destination is included. EPA rates the FWD at 43 MPG combined and the AWD XLE at 41. Toyota lists a 2.5L hybrid with 236 net combined hp. It is not listed among IIHS's 2026 winners.
Go ifBuyers who want a hybrid-only RAV4 with 43 MPG
Skip ifYou want an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK award; the RAV4 is not listed for 2026
Why #7 over #8: Its 43 MPG is above the Corolla Cross Hybrid at 42 MPG.
8
2026 Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid
Answrs VerdictCheapest here, 42 MPG.
Starting MSRP: $29,795 for the 2026 Corolla Cross Hybrid S; Toyota's page does not state whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmedEPA fuel economy: 42 MPG combined for the 2026 Corolla Cross Hybrid AWD per EPAOther trims: Toyota lists the Hybrid SE at $31,115 and the Hybrid XSE at $33,830IIHS award: Not listed among the 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK winners on IIHS's page
The 2026 Corolla Cross Hybrid S starts at $29,795, and Toyota's page does not say whether destination is included. EPA rates the AWD at 42 MPG combined. Toyota lists the Hybrid SE at $31,115 and the Hybrid XSE at $33,830. It is not listed among IIHS's 2026 winners.
Go ifBudget shoppers who want the lowest hybrid sticker price on this list
Skip ifYou want a top IIHS award; the Corolla Cross is not listed for 2026
Why #8 over #9: It starts at $29,795, below the CR-V Hybrid at $36,030, with 42 MPG against 40.
9
2027 Honda CR-V Hybrid
Answrs VerdictSolid, but pricey.
Starting MSRP: $36,030 for the 2027 CR-V Hybrid; Honda says MSRP excludes a $1,550 destination chargeEPA fuel economy: 40 MPG combined for the 2026 CR-V Hybrid FWD per EPA; Honda lists 43/36 city/highway for the 2027AWD version: EPA lists the 2026 CR-V Hybrid AWD at 37 MPG combinedPower: Honda describes the CR-V Hybrid as 204-horsepowerIIHS award: Not listed among the 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK winners on IIHS's page
The 2027 CR-V Hybrid starts at $36,030, and Honda says the price excludes a $1,550 destination charge. EPA rates the 2026 FWD at 40 MPG combined and the AWD at 37, and Honda lists 43/36 city/highway and 204 horsepower. It is not listed among IIHS's 2026 winners.
Go ifBuyers loyal to Honda who want a refined hybrid and accept a higher price
Skip ifYou want the lowest price; the CR-V Hybrid starts at $36,030
Why #9 over #10: Its 40 MPG is above the 36 MPG of the Grand Highlander Hybrid, at $36,030 against $45,610.
10
2026 Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid
Answrs VerdictLargest, highest price.
Starting MSRP: $45,610 for the 2026 Grand Highlander Hybrid LE; Toyota's page does not state whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmedEPA fuel economy: 36 MPG combined for the 2026 Grand Highlander Hybrid FWD per EPA; 34 MPG combined for the AWDAWD version: EPA lists the 2026 Grand Highlander Hybrid AWD at 34 MPG combinedPowertrain: Toyota lists a 2.5-liter hybrid engine with 245 net combined horsepowerIIHS award: Not listed among the 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK winners on IIHS's page
The 2026 Grand Highlander Hybrid LE starts at $45,610, and Toyota's page does not say whether destination is included. EPA rates the FWD at 36 MPG combined and the AWD at 34. Toyota lists a 2.5-liter hybrid with 245 net combined horsepower. It is not listed among IIHS's 2026 winners.
Go ifLarge families who want the biggest Toyota hybrid SUV here
Skip ifYou want a hybrid under $40,000; this one starts at $45,610
How we ranked these
We kept mainstream, non-luxury hybrid SUVs that a maker page or EPA lists for 2026 or 2027, then ranked them by the IIHS 2026 TOP SAFETY PICK award, then the best EPA combined MPG for that hybrid, then starting MSRP. Prices are the starting MSRP on each maker's page, and each pick states whether destination is excluded or could not be confirmed. Not being listed by IIHS is not a poor rating, and NHTSA star ratings were not compared. EPA lists some hybrids under the 2026 model year while the maker page shows 2027, and the pick says which. Left out: the Ford Maverick (a truck), the Hyundai Palisade Hybrid, Kia Telluride Hybrid, Toyota Highlander Hybrid and Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid, which we did not rank, and the Honda HR-V and Mazda CX-50, which could not be confirmed as hybrids. Luxury and plug-in models have their own lists: /cars/best-luxury-hybrid-suvs-2027/, /cars/best-plug-in-hybrids-2027/, /cars/best-hybrid-sedans-2027/, /cars/best-hybrid-trucks-2027/ and /cars/best-hybrid-minivans-2027/. Facts are taken from each maker's own published information; check the official site before you buy.
Questions people ask
What is the best hybrid SUV in 2027?
The Kia Sportage Hybrid. The 2026 Sportage is an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+ (for vehicles built after May 2025), EPA rates the 2027 Sportage Hybrid FWD at 41 MPG combined, and it starts at $30,590 before destination.
What is the cheapest hybrid SUV?
On the makers' pages the 2026 Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid S starts at $29,795, the 2027 Kia Niro Hybrid at $29,890 and the 2027 Kia Sportage Hybrid at $30,590. Toyota's page does not say whether destination is included, so that could not be confirmed; Kia's prices exclude it.
Which hybrid SUV gets the best gas mileage?
The 2027 Kia Niro, rated 50 MPG combined by EPA. The 2026 Toyota RAV4 FWD follows at 43 MPG, then the Corolla Cross Hybrid AWD at 42 and the 2027 Sportage Hybrid FWD at 41.
Which hybrid SUVs have an IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+?
On IIHS's 2026 list: the Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage, Subaru Forester, Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento. The Sportage and Sorento awards apply only to vehicles built after May 2025 and September 2025. The other picks are not listed, which is not the same as a poor rating.
EPA combined MPG for the most efficient version of each hybrid at a glance
2026 Subaru Forester Hybrid35 MPG
2026 Hyundai Tucson Hybrid36 MPG
2027 Hyundai Santa Fe Hybrid36 MPG
2026 Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid36 MPG
2027 Kia Sorento Hybrid37 MPG
2027 Honda CR-V Hybrid40 MPG
2027 Kia Sportage Hybrid41 MPG
2026 Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid42 MPG
2026 Toyota RAV443 MPG
2027 Kia Niro Hybrid50 MPG
EPA combined MPG for the most efficient version of each hybrid, as published by each maker. Picks without a published figure are left off.