answrsnow
AI Infrastructure · Top 10

The 10 Best AI Tools for Language Learning in 2027

By Kory White · Updated Nov 2026 · 5 min read
Talkpal
Direct answer

Talkpal is the best AI tool for language learning: its page lists AI conversations, pronunciation and grammar feedback, 130+ languages and a free Basic plan, with Premium from $19.99 a month. Busuu is #2 and Duolingo Max is #3. Talkpal is also the best value, as the cheapest monthly-billed plan among tools that list AI conversation or speech practice.

At a glance

#PickPriceBest for
1TalkpalPremium 1 Month $19.99 a month; Premium 12 Months $9.99 a month ($119.99); Premium 24 Months $6.24 a month ($149.99); prices vary by location (read 2026-11-08)Learners who want the widest language list plus AI conversation and pronunciation feedback
2BusuuPremium Plus 12 months $87.90 ($7.33 a month); Premium 12 months $72.99 ($6.08 a month); the 1 month prices were not shown (read 2026-11-08)Learners who want AI conversations and pronunciation practice in one paid tier after a free start
3Duolingo MaxNot published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08); Max pricing is shown in the iOS and Android app, and Max cannot be purchased on webLearners who already use Duolingo and want AI roleplay and video calls
4Rosetta StoneNot published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08)Learners who want lessons, chat missions and tutoring in one membership
5SpeakNot published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08); Speak says pricing varies by plan, region and promotion and is shown in the appLearners of its six languages who want to speak from the first lesson
6ELSA SpeakELSA Pro $89.99 a year; ELSA Premium $99.99 a year; no monthly price shown (read 2026-11-08)Learners of English who want pronunciation coaching
7MemrisePRO 1 month $24.99 a month; 12 months $61.99 billed once a year ($5.17 a month); Lifetime $329.99 (read 2026-11-08)Learners who like native-speaker video with some AI practice
8PraktikaNot published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08)Learners who want an AI tutor that explains each correction
9LingQPremium $14.99 a month; $10.00 a month billed $119.99 for 12 months; Premium Plus $29.99 a month (read 2026-11-08)Readers and listeners who learn from real content they import
10LingvistMonthly $9.99 a month; Annual $79.99 a year ($6.67 a month) with a 14-day free trial (read 2026-11-08)Vocabulary-focused learners who want the lowest monthly price

Pick by what you want

Best overall
Talkpal
Best value
Talkpal
Best for AI roleplay and video calls
Duolingo Max
Best for English pronunciation
ELSA Speak
Best for lowest monthly price
Lingvist

The ranking

1

Talkpal

Talkpal
Answrs VerdictThe most complete AI feature list, with a monthly plan and a free tier.
Price: Premium 1 Month $19.99 a month; Premium 12 Months $9.99 a month ($119.99); Premium 24 Months $6.24 a month ($149.99); prices vary by location (read 2026-11-08)AI features: AI conversations that the maker calls immersive and realistic, instant feedback on pronunciation and grammar, and daily AI feedback on PremiumLanguages: 130+ languagesFree tier: The free Basic plan has basic chat with a 10 minute daily limit, plus the pronunciation assessment toolTrial: Premium plans list a 14 Day Free Trial

Talkpal lists AI conversations, instant feedback on pronunciation and grammar, and 130+ languages. Premium 1 Month is $19.99 a month; the 12 Months plan is $9.99 a month ($119.99). The free Basic plan has basic chat with a 10 minute daily limit, and Premium plans list a 14 Day Free Trial.

Go ifLearners who want the widest language list plus AI conversation and pronunciation feedback
Skip ifYou want a long free plan: the free tier is limited to 10 minutes a day
Why #1 over #2: It lists all three things we looked for and states 130+ languages, which Busuu does not.
2

Busuu

Busuu
Answrs VerdictAI conversations and pronunciation practice, with a free way to start.
Price: Premium Plus 12 months $87.90 ($7.33 a month); Premium 12 months $72.99 ($6.08 a month); the 1 month prices were not shown (read 2026-11-08)AI features: Premium Plus lists AI conversations and pronunciation practice, marked as available in select languages and on select platformsPremium: Premium lists grammar review, vocabulary review, speaking assessments and certificatesFree tier: The home page offers Learn for freeLanguages: A language count was not stated on the pages read

Busuu Premium Plus lists AI conversations and pronunciation practice, marked as available in select languages and on select platforms, and the home page offers Learn for free. The 12 month Premium Plus price is $87.90 ($7.33 a month); the 1 month prices were not shown.

Go ifLearners who want AI conversations and pronunciation practice in one paid tier after a free start
Skip ifYou need a stated language count or a monthly price shown up front
Why #2 over #3: It lists all three features, but Duolingo Max lists only two of them, so Busuu ranks ahead.
3

Duolingo Max

Duolingo Max
Answrs VerdictRoleplay and video calls on top of a free-to-use app.
Price: Not published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08); Max pricing is shown in the iOS and Android app, and Max cannot be purchased on webAI features: Max adds two AI features to Super Duolingo: Roleplay and Video Call with LilyRoleplay languages: Roleplay is for English speakers learning French, Spanish, German, Portuguese and ItalianVideo Call languages: Video Call covers English, French, Spanish, Italian, German and Portuguese on iOS and AndroidFree tier: The plan table lists a Free plan beside Super and Super Family; the page cites 100+ language courses

Duolingo says Max adds Roleplay and Video Call with Lily to Super Duolingo, on iOS and Android only. Roleplay is for English speakers learning French, Spanish, German, Portuguese and Italian. A Free plan is listed and the page cites 100+ language courses; the Max price is shown in the app.

Go ifLearners who already use Duolingo and want AI roleplay and video calls
Skip ifYou need to buy on the web or learn a language outside its supported list
Why #3 over #4: It states a language count of 100+, more than Rosetta Stone’s 25.
4

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone
Answrs VerdictConversation practice and speech feedback, but no price on the page read.
Price: Not published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08)Languages: Every subscription includes all 25 languagesConversation practice: Chat Missions give conversation practice that feels like a gameSpeech feedback: TruAccent speech technology helps you perfect your pronunciationExtras: Sapphire Studio creates your own learning materials in seconds; personalized 1-to-1 tutoring is offered

Rosetta Stone says every subscription includes all 25 languages, with Chat Missions for conversation practice, TruAccent speech technology for pronunciation, Sapphire Studio and personalized 1-to-1 tutoring. No price was shown on the page read.

Go ifLearners who want lessons, chat missions and tutoring in one membership
Skip ifYou need a price shown before you join
Why #4 over #5: It states 25 languages, more than Speak’s six.
5

Speak

Speak
Answrs VerdictA speaking-first app with a short list of languages.
Price: Not published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08); Speak says pricing varies by plan, region and promotion and is shown in the appAI features: AI conversation practice with the Speak Tutor and real-time feedback on pronunciation and phrasingLanguages: English speakers can learn Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Simplified ChineseTrial: A 7-day free trial; no free plan is describedPlans: Premium Plus adds unlimited personalized lessons, custom review built from your mistakes and the full Speak Tutor experience

Speak offers AI conversation practice with the Speak Tutor and real-time feedback on pronunciation and phrasing. English speakers can learn Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Simplified Chinese. A 7-day free trial is offered; pricing varies by plan and region and is shown in the app.

Go ifLearners of its six languages who want to speak from the first lesson
Skip ifYou want a different language or a free plan
Why #5 over #6: It covers six languages, while ELSA covers English only.
6

ELSA Speak

ELSA Speak
Answrs VerdictFocused English pronunciation and role-play practice.
Price: ELSA Pro $89.99 a year; ELSA Premium $99.99 a year; no monthly price shown (read 2026-11-08)AI features: Unlimited role-plays on ELSA AI, advanced feedback and AI pronunciation coachingLanguages: English speaking practice onlyTrial: A 7 days free trial is offeredLessons: Access to 10,000+ lessons and the Speech Analyzer on the web

ELSA lists unlimited role-plays on ELSA AI, advanced feedback and 10,000+ lessons for English speaking practice. ELSA Pro is $89.99 a year and ELSA Premium is $99.99 a year, with a 7 days free trial; no monthly price is shown.

Go ifLearners of English who want pronunciation coaching
Skip ifYou want to learn any language other than English
Why #6 over #7: It lists conversation and feedback, and states a language scope, while Memrise states no language count.
7

Memrise

Memrise
Answrs VerdictNative video plus AI practice, with the dearest monthly plan.
Price: PRO 1 month $24.99 a month; 12 months $61.99 billed once a year ($5.17 a month); Lifetime $329.99 (read 2026-11-08)AI features: The maker describes private AI practice, and PRO has unlimited speaking practiceFree tier: You can start learning for free; the free plan is limited to one speaking session a dayNative videos: Short videos of real native speakers, with a record-and-compare stepLanguages: A language count was not stated on the pages read

Memrise describes private AI practice and native-speaker videos, and PRO has unlimited speaking practice while the free plan is limited to one speaking session a day. PRO is $24.99 a month for 1 month, or $61.99 billed once a year ($5.17 a month); Lifetime is $329.99.

Go ifLearners who like native-speaker video with some AI practice
Skip ifYou want the lowest monthly price: its 1 month plan is the highest on the chart
Why #7 over #8: It ties Praktika on points and wins the alphabetical tie-break.
8

Praktika

Praktika
Answrs VerdictTutor-style AI corrections, with no price on the page.
Price: Not published on the pages read (read 2026-11-08)AI features: AI tutors that give instant corrections on pronunciation, grammar and word choice, with explanations of mistakesConversation: You can begin a free conversation on any topic, and choose a Soft, Balanced or Strict toneLanguages: A language count was not stated on the page read

Praktika’s AI tutors give instant corrections on pronunciation, grammar and word choice, explain mistakes and let you start a conversation on any topic, in a Soft, Balanced or Strict tone. No price or language count was shown on the page read.

Go ifLearners who want an AI tutor that explains each correction
Skip ifYou need a price or language count before installing
Why #8 over #9: It lists conversation and feedback, which LingQ’s page does not.
9

LingQ

LingQ
Answrs VerdictA content-first app with AI tools on the top plan.
Price: Premium $14.99 a month; $10.00 a month billed $119.99 for 12 months; Premium Plus $29.99 a month (read 2026-11-08)AI features: Premium Plus lists AI voices, Advanced Lynx Chat and AI Simplified LessonsContent tools: The AI tools turn a show or song into a lesson with transcripts, translations and audioLanguages: View all 53 languagesFree tier: A free plan is listed beside Premium

LingQ turns content you choose into lessons with AI tools, and Premium Plus lists AI voices, Advanced Lynx Chat and AI Simplified Lessons. Premium is $14.99 a month, or $10.00 a month billed $119.99 for 12 months; a free plan is listed and the home page links to all 53 languages.

Go ifReaders and listeners who learn from real content they import
Skip ifYou want live AI conversation practice
Why #9 over #10: It lists a free plan and AI chat, which Lingvist’s pricing page does not.
10

Lingvist

Lingvist
Answrs VerdictThe cheapest monthly plan, but no conversation or speech tools are listed.
Price: Monthly $9.99 a month; Annual $79.99 a year ($6.67 a month) with a 14-day free trial (read 2026-11-08)AI features: The maker describes AI-powered language learning with smart algorithms; no conversation or speech feature is listedLanguages: 50+ languagesDecks: Custom Decks let you create your own vocabulary deck

Lingvist describes AI-powered learning across 50+ languages with Custom Decks. Monthly is $9.99 a month and Annual is $79.99 a year with a 14-day free trial. No conversation or speech feature is listed, so it ranks last on our rule.

Go ifVocabulary-focused learners who want the lowest monthly price
Skip ifYou want AI conversation or speech feedback

Want to be the tutor instead of the student?

If you speak a language well and would rather teach it, our guide covers starting an online tutoring business.

How we ranked these

We gave each tool one point for each of three things its own page lists: AI conversation practice, speech or pronunciation feedback, and a free plan. Ties go to the larger language count the maker states (a stated count beats none), then alphabetical order. Best value is the lowest monthly-billed paid plan among tools that score two or more; that is Talkpal. All facts come from each maker’s own pages, read on 2026-11-08, and we make no claims about how much you will learn. The chart compares one metric: the cheapest paid plan billed monthly, in USD per month. Six picks are left off it: Busuu and ELSA show only annual prices, and Duolingo Max, Rosetta Stone, Speak and Praktika did not publish a price on the pages read. Babbel and Mondly were not used because their pages could not be read. Facts are taken from each maker's own published information; check the official site before you buy.

Questions people ask

What is the best AI tool for language learning?

Talkpal: its page lists AI conversations, instant pronunciation and grammar feedback, 130+ languages and a free Basic plan, with Premium from $19.99 a month.

Which AI language tool has the cheapest monthly plan?

Lingvist at $9.99 a month, then LingQ at $14.99 and Talkpal at $19.99. Lingvist lists no conversation or speech feature, so Talkpal is the cheapest monthly plan among tools that list one.

Does Duolingo Max use AI?

Yes. Duolingo says Max adds Roleplay and Video Call with Lily to Super Duolingo, on iOS and Android only. Its price is shown in the app.

Which tools offer a free plan?

Talkpal, Memrise, LingQ and Duolingo list a free plan, and Busuu offers Learn for free. Speak, ELSA and Lingvist describe free trials instead.

Cheapest paid plan billed monthly, USD per month (picks with annual-only or unpublished prices are left out) at a glance

Lingvist9.99 USD
LingQ14.99 USD
Talkpal19.99 USD
Memrise24.99 USD
Cheapest paid plan billed monthly, USD per month (picks with annual-only or unpublished prices are left out), as published by each maker. Picks without a published figure are left off.

Official sites

Sources

Prices, specs and availability change; confirm on the official site before you buy.

Share this page